Interview with Mandy L. Buffington

I meet Mandy through a yahoo group called Creative Writer Anonymous, but after losing internet for a while and life often complicating things we’ve reconnected once more on Facebook where she recreated the group Creative Writer Anonymous.

This poem with everything that has been happening has struck cords in many people but for writers it seem much more because we write what other are afraid to so do and which is why I wanted to feature Mandy’s poem here.

It not only helped us reconnect but also it brings to life what is happened and issue that people can no longer hide from anymore but in a gentle way like a whisper in the wind coaxing them to action in a loving way. So I am happy to welcome Mandy L Buffington to New Ideas and Inspirations.

Mandy, thank your for your taking the time for this interview now, would you like to introduce yourself and your work? Mandy Buffington and I’m a writer of poetry, short stories, novels, done some one act plays, articles, and even a song. Most have known me for my poetry.

My first question would have to be, you said in your post you don’t often post your poem on your facebook but with everything that you have been seeing, that you felt compelled in a way to do so. Can you talk a little about that? What did you see and what were the emotions that inspired this poem?

I do post it on my fan page on Facebook and certain groups but not my main page. I don’t do that as often as I use to sometimes feeling that it’s not always as well received. It’s not fear of rejection it’s dealing with sometimes certain points of view especially within the last year or two as my own views have changed and being attacked for them. However, after seeing yet another post from a now non friend making a comment of weight when not thinking how others might see themselves when they were not needing to worry about things it was sort of the last straw type of thing.

For this poem, what did your process look like? Was it smooth? Or did you stumbled over your wording?

This was probably one of the easier poems to write because I saw a status message on Facebook and it wasn’t the first on Beauty and how people look at themselves. It really just came out.

In the context of what you have written up to this point, what does ‘being creative’ mean to you?

That’s really hard to answer I’ve honestly written many things I’ve been seriously writing since I was a sophomore in high school. The hardest part especially now is dealing with my chronic health issues and trying to find a way to still be creative being me with that context. My life especially changed when I got fibromyalgia and it’s an everyday is different and it’s not simple not only do I relay more on certain things like my phone more I have to find other ways to keep going. It’s almost like relearning to do what you have been doing for years in a different context and it can be a bit overwhelming.

What are you hoping to communicate with not only this poem but with your writing in general?

That really differences are good we don’t need to be the same and obviously beauty is everywhere and in everything stop trying to be someone else or something else. Love who you are and love everyone else. It’s honestly that simple.

Have you published any of your work? If not, would you like to?

I’ve had some of my poems published one full chapbook and some in another.

Do you have any favorite works that you have written?

Probably too many too count when you’ve written over 2000 poems just in poetry you lose count.

How can others connect with you through social media?
Resource Queen fan page: https://www.facebook.com/ResourceQueen
Twitter: Princesssudi
Instragram: Princesssudi
Pinterest: Princesssudi
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7980335-mandy
Creative Writers Anonymous- writing group you can share blurbs, giveaways, writing articles, and etc: https://www.facebook.com/groups/CreativeWritersAnonymous1/
Resource Queen Group- just like the fan page now you won’t have to worry about missing anything! Join us if you want all the perks of the fan page! https://www.facebook.com/groups/ResourceQueen/

Is there anything else you would like to add? The writing group is good to join if you are a fellow writer. If you want to see other poems definitely check out my fan page.

Leave a Reply

